Shadows

A dream I had last night (April 10th 2014). When I woke, I knew I had been walking home on a path that had once been a major highway leading away from my home city. For some reason the land had reverted back to a state where nature once again held the land and there was barely a trace of humanity. It was a very quick dream and linked into another very briefly so it was hard to distinguish what I had felt and observed in this part of the dream and wrote only what I remembered as definitely part of this dream. As a result I think I come off rather bland but there is room to expand on the idea for sure, overall an unusual and interesting dream.

The land around me was grey. The sky was dark though not from night, but from a heavy cloud of ash and dust that extended as far as the eye could see. In patches it seemed as though light were just beyond, but the moment you noticed and had hope build up inside, the swirling mass of ash would extend and that brief glimmer of light would disappear with it.

On either side of me dense forest disappeared into shadow. The tree tops barely distinguishable from the darkened skies and ash above cast distorted shadows and played tricks on the mind. Crooked branches sat bare atop the canopy, reaching for light that taunted through the blanket above. The trees that had survived ranged in very few shades of blue and grey and almost perfectly line the road, prevented from enclosing the expanse by what lay below.

This had once been a major road from a world long gone, a key route that belonged to a civilisation that had collapsed. Somewhere beneath the dirt and ash lay hard road slowly covered by time though not reclaimed by nature. Something had happened to the world, a great disaster that remained unexplained and laid the air thick with warning. It always seemed still yet at the same time echoed the movements of things that hid among the shadows.

As I walked small flecks of burning ash fell through the air, twisting and turning as though engaged in a dance. They were they only colours I could see around me. Specks of molten reds and oranges fell about me as though the sky were full of small fires and held me in a carefree gaze. As the largest of the embers fell to the ground and faded to grey, an outline formed at the edge of the road. Coming from the direction I was headed towards I slowed my pace entering an almost cautious stride.

Two children on top a bear came into view, a boy about ten years old and the girl nine. Both pale grey with dirty blonde hair and in white makeshift clothing, their faces held vacant expressions as though unaware of the state of the world around them. I side stepped to allow them clear passage.

As I did so I moved out of my body and saw myself for the first time. I was a young woman with long auburn hair tied down my back. Though I was slim I was muscular and curved at the hips, a feature emphasized by the tight fitting black outfit I wore. A black tank top, black denim jeans, black finger-less gloves and boots. I saw the cautious look on my face, eyes pinched together in anticipation and observation. Though my eyes looked aged as though they had seen too much too soon, they were softened by the abundance of freckles scattered across my cheeks. My stance was calculated, my hands spread either side of me palm down as if I were showing I help no weapon. I rotated myself to face the bear and children as they passed me never giving them my back. I wasn’t sure what would happen if I did but I never wanted to take my eyes off them.

They appeared as children and a bear, though what they actually were remained unclear. Some knowledge had been passed onto me at a young age that they were here yet they weren’t, that they were echos and memories of the past that should not be disturbed, and that we were never allowed to interfere with their path for fear of our own being destroyed

About Kris

I've got a little bit to say about a lot of different things. Everything is changing everday, and everday I'm changing how I understand it all. This is what I share on here with you, a varying perspective on the events my life, after all I'm one in seven billion. At times I'm called weird, at times I'm called a geek, a lot of the time they call me trouble, but you can call me Kris.
This entry was posted in Dream Journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any Feedback or Comments? Leave a Reply!

